Scroll to content
Coltishall Primary School home page

Coltishall Primary School

School Council

Our school council meets once a week and is comprised of delegates from each key stage two class who are democratically elected by their peers. For the posts of chairman, vice-chairperson, treasurer, and secretary, the Year 6 class has four delegates. After a hustings in which candidates address all the school in a special assembly,  a school-wide election is held.


The school council can generate funding for initiatives; for example, they recently raised cash for an extra set of parallel bars, which they polled as the most popular piece of playground equipment.


They wrote a letter and visited with a representative from Norse, our caterers, to express their concerns about portion sizes for upper KS2 pupils not being adequate or in line with government requirements. At the same time, they carried out our surveys, created films, and raised food waste awareness among our pupils.